Sailing News

Nacra 17, 49er, 49erFX – World Championship – Auckland NZL – Final results – Gold for NZL, NED and ITA, 49erFX and Nacra17 Olympic Nations Berths for USA

This Sunday morning UTC, two fleet races and the Medal Race concluded the 2019 World Championships of the Olympic 49er, 49erFX and Nacra17 Classes in Auckland NZL. —– The US Sailing Team grasped two Olympic Nations Berths in the 49ersFX with Paris Henken (Coronado, Calif.) and Anna Tobias Tunnicliffe (Pittsburg, Penn.), rank 9, and in the Nacras17 with Riley Gibbs (Long Beach, Calif.) and Anna Weis (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), rank 14. Congratulations ! ———- Nevin Snow (San Diego, Calif.) and Dane Wilson (Ojai, Calif.), rank 13, however could unfortunately not carry thru the excellent results of the first races and as fifth nation not-qualified for 2020 Tokyo, the did not make the nations cut by 5 points. The World Sailing Rules stipulate, that if an allocated quota place is not confirmed by the NOC by the confirmation of quota place deadline (March 15, 2020) or is declined by the NOC, the quota place will be reallocated … (..) … within the same event (i.e. 49ers) to the next highestplaced NOC, irrespective of the continent not yet qualified, based on the results of the 2019 World Championships, the last chance for the USA 49er. (Rule interpretation before final statement of World Sailing.) —— Read here the Final Results of all North Americans and the latest US Sailing Team Report. ————— In addition, here the summary of the top-finishers in all three Classes: —– Having come strongly from behind during the event, Peter Burling/Blair Tuke NZL finally secured their 5th World Champions title in the 49ers. Erik Heil/Thomas Plössel GER grasped Silver, Dylan Fletcher/Stuart Bithell GBR Bronze. —– In the 49ersFX, capsizing of the Olympic Champions Martine Grael/Kahena Kunze BRA (photo) decided the title in favour of Annemiek Bekkering/Annette Duetz NED. Bronze went to Ida Baad-Nielsen/Marie Thusgaard DEN. —– In the Nacras17, Vittorio Bisarro/Maelle Frascari ITA defended their lead earning Gold ahead of Lin Cenholt/Christian Lübeck DEN and Jason Waterhouse/Lisa Darmanin AUS. —– The news with link to all ranking lists, videos and photos.