over before it started

A couple of friends on Facebook (yes I have friends) were debating why BAR didn’t have to sail the course after ETNZ’s accident.
Well, one need to look no further than the RRSACv2.9. That’s the Racing Rules of Sailing America’s Cup Version 2.9. For those of you who didn’t know, they even have their own version of the rules.
RRSAC 60.2(d) states, and I quote “The Regatta Director in a match race involving AC Class Yachts, shall (note it says shall not may) disqualify a yacht that capsizes while racing, terminate the race and award it to the other yacht if that yacht has either started, or is sailing in or near the starting area and intends to race.”
Kind of a case of it being over before it started. – Shanghai Sailor