Uncategorized

two sail reach?

vor breaking

two sail reach?

Reports from multiple sources have surfaced alleging that Telefonica used more than their allowed headsail allotment during Leg 3 of the Volvo Ocean Race. While no formal protests were filed, we’ve confirmed with sources inside the VOR that Measurers forwarded a report on the situation to the Jury on the Sunday of the Auckland re-start, though there’s nothing official posted anywhere we can find. Some say Tele used an extra staysail, some say an extra storm jib, though until we get an official comment, its all just speculation. Penalties will certainly apply if indeed the sail rules were broken, and if they were broken on one leg, they might’ve been broken on others.

VOR officials have not returned our emails by press time, but given the VOR staff’s usual transparency, we expect a comment soon.