Uncategorized

who fouled who?

rules, man

who fouled who?

Every now and then we like to feature these…

Boat A approaches windward mark on port tack and needs to tack over to round the mark. Boat B is fetching the mark. Boat A tacks, boat B drives up to avoid but does not go above close hauled. Boat A says they will do turns. Boat A and B both agree they sail pass the mark, maybe one boat length. Boat A bears off slightly, then steers a beam reach. Boat B steers down to set chute, doesn’t see A until too late to avoid contact. Boat B contacts boat A without damage. Boat A protests. Boat B doesn’t do turns. Is boat A the right of way, leeward boat here (rule 11)? Can she maintain her beam reach course if boat B is pinned above her? (rule 44.2) What obligation does A have to stay clear of B? When can A be penalized for not staying clear(rule 21.2)? Or does boat B foul A? Jump on in.